on air now

James Tedesco makes history at the NSW Blues awards night

Article image for James Tedesco makes history at the NSW Blues awards night

James Tedesco has made history at the NSW Blues awards night, becoming the first player ever to claim back-to-back Brad Fittler Medals.

The Roosters superstar was voted as the Blues player of the State of Origin series by his teammates and presented with the award in front of more than 550 guests at a ceremony at The Star on Monday night.

He was also a landslide winner for The Daily Telegraph’s People’s Choice Award after scoring the series-winning try in the dying seconds of Game III and earlier claiming the Wally Lewis Medal for overall player of the series.

Jarryd Hayne has won the Brad Fittler Medal multiple times (2007, 2009, 2014), but Tedesco is the first player to win it back-to-back in the award’s 15-year history.

Winger Josh Addo-Carr claimed the True Blue Award for displaying qualities on which the team ethos is built, while Simaima Taufa was named the NSW Women’s State Player of the Year.

Previous Brad Fittler Medal winners:

2005 – Matt King

2006 – Steve Menzies

2007 – Jarryd Hayne

2008 – Danny Buderus

2009 – Jarryd Hayne

2010 – Kurt Gidley

2011 – Paul Gallen

2012 – Robbie Farah

2013 – Greg Bird

2014 – Jarryd Hayne

2015 – Josh Dugan

2016 – Josh Jackson

2017 – David Klemmer

2018 – James Tedesco

2019 – James Tedesco



Macquarie National News