on air now

NRL drops Immortals bombshell

Macquarie National News

The NRL has dropped a bombshell, elevating five former players to the game’s highest echelon.

Norm Provan and Mal Meninga were selected from a short list of 10 players to be crowned the latest Immortals.

And in an historic move, the judging panel determined three pre-war players on the shortlist – Dally Messenger, Dave Brown and Frank Burge – should also be recognised as Immortals.

NRL CEO Todd Greenberg explained the reasoning behind announcing five, and not the expected two, Immortals.

“The judges took the view that this was a one-off opportunity to recognise the past, to recognise three players from the pre-war era who became legends of the game.”

“It was an opportunity the game could not afford to miss and the Immortals now reflect the full history of Rugby League – from 1908 to the present.”

Mr Greenberg praised the stand taken by the selection panel which also included current Immortals Wally Lewis, Bob Fulton and Andrew Johns, as well as Wayne Bennett, Phil Gould, Ray Warren, Steve Crawley and former Rugby League Week editors Ian Heads and Norm Tasker.

The Immortals

  • Clive Churchill
  • Bob Fulton
  • Reg Gasnier
  • Johnny Raper
  • Graeme Langlands
  • Wally Lewis
  • Arthur Beetson
  • Andrew Johns
  • Dave Brown
  • Dally Messenger
  • Frank Burge
  • Norm Provan
  • Mal Meninga

The NRL also formally inducted six players to the NRL Hall of Fame; Petero Civoniceva, Mark Graham, Cliff Lyons, Steve Menzies, Ricky Stuart and Gorden Tallis.

Macquarie National News