on air now

Dave Sharma wins seat of Wentworth

Article image for Dave Sharma wins seat of Wentworth

Liberal MP Dave Sharma has won Malcolm Turnbull’s former seat of Wentworth.

He ran as the Liberal candidate after the former prime minister quit parliament in 2018, but lost to Independent Kerryn Phelps.

He took her on again in the federal election, with the result too close to call on Saturday night.

Ms Phelps has now conceded defeat, handing the seat of Wentworth back to the Liberals.

Mr Sharma tells Ben Fordham it’s an “honour” to be elected.

“I think the margin’s now about 2,500 votes… I think that margin will just grow over the next day or two.”

Click PLAY to hear the full interview